04
Jun
17

GARGLING AND GURGLING WITH WINE, NOT LISTERINE

 

Since my early days as a wine writer and educator, I’ve been invited to innumerable wine tastings both here and abroad. One of my most memorable experiences was sponsored by Dom Ruinart, the excellent champagne house in Rheims, France. A small group of writer-colleagues was invited to pick grapes, watch the berries de-stemmed and crushed, and then partake of a hearty local dish of pork and wursts prepared for vineyard workers.

Later we dined at one of Champagne’s best restaurants. Wine tasting is serious business so there was no small talk as we got to sample the variety of Dom Ruinart’s house styles. The only sound was the buzz of appreciative mmm’s and ahh’s, counterpointed by a polite, discreet, but nonetheless recognizable sound of gargling and gurgling.

“Ah, why and how do you make that peculiar sound,” I asked naively. The more experienced wine writers looked at me as though I had fallen off the turnip truck. If anyone else didn’t know, they were smart enough to keep their questions to themselves.

“We swish the wine around the mouth to cover all areas of tongue and mouth,” was the answer.  “Then you gargle a soupçon of wine.”

Easier said than done. Among that distinguished group, I lifted my glass and took a swallow. Champagne bubbles caught at the back of my throat, and I choked, spewing a mouthful of wine across the table. So much for sophistication.

I learned to gargle discretely. But I never fail to explain why wine is swirled in the glass (to aerate it, of course … except for champagne because we pay extra for bubbles and don’t want to dissipate them). Then the first sip is swished in the mouth and gently gargled. That first moment gives a hint of what the wine offers. I tell new wine drinkers they will develop the habit of swirling every glass of liquid they drink, including their morning orange juice.

0 Responses to “GARGLING AND GURGLING WITH WINE, NOT LISTERINE”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2017
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Recent Entries


